COMMUNITY

Community  /  Forums  /  Is it acceptable?
Is it acceptable?
Mongo68
Legend
 
1,223 Views    21 Replies    0 Likes   I like it!
My last 2 rounds I played with a friend in my club and requested an attest from him for each. I noticed that he hadn't attested them and I called him on it. He said that you have to announce the score on the green. I told him I announced every score of our last round and another guy in the group was keeping everyone's score. Sometimes it was on the green as we were walking away, some were in the rough between the green and the cart and a few may have been when we got to the next tee box and EVERYONE in the group didn't announce every score on the green (including him). But every hole score was announced. He even saw the card in the bar after the round but wouldnt attest it because "all" the scores weren't announced on the "green". He admits he's being anal about it.

So beings as it wasn't a rule announced before the round, who's wrong here? Me, because I didnt announce every score while "still on the green" or the anal guy who did the same as I did and announced his scores on the green, in the rough and at the next tee and won't attest anything even though he knows the score is legit?

More often than not, the person keeping score confirms a hole score a 2nd time when he records them anyway so what's the difference?
Joe Don!
Professional Champion
 
# 1    4/5/2017 11:42:02 AM   
Don. announce your score!

I have played many rounds with you and it's like pulling teeth.

It's a good practice. It also gives others a chance to help you count, in the event of a miscount.

Damn boy! (lol!)


# 2    4/5/2017 11:52:34 AM   
I know Joe very well, and He has the highest standard for integrity.
I vote we exchange score cards with players in the 4some,as we do in the worldam
It is common to announce your score when the put is made.
The last thing a player needs is to constantly recheck a players score through the entire round.
And if there is a discpetancy,it can be settled on the spot with the other players in the group.


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 3    4/5/2017 11:55:22 AM   

Don. announce your score!

I have played many rounds with you and it's like pulling teeth.

It's a good practice. It also gives others a chance to help you count, in the event of a miscount.

Damn boy! (lol!)



I did Joe. That's the damn problem. He doesn't get it. All scores WERE announced before the next shot was hit. If it's good practice then it should be pointed out to everyone that it's what the person expected. I don't see a difference between on the green, 4 steps off the green or at the next tee box when you're out of the way of the group behind you. I agree with a chance of a miscount, I've given a wrong score before just like anyone else that has a beating heart. And generally, when I'm getting to the next tee box I am recounting the last hole stroke for stroke to make sure I had it correct. Let's face it, pars and birdies are easy to remember, when you start going high with penalties or a flubbed shot, it's easier to make a mistake. Unless I am your opponent in a tournament I am not tracking your or everyone else's every shot on a tally sheet. It's a game of integrity which I think is half the point here anyway.

I agree with Len, switch scorecards like the World Am. But that's pretty unlikely to happen in the real world.


# 4    4/5/2017 12:27:57 PM   
Now now gentlemen, let's play nice...golf is but a game.


njgolfer
Legend
 
# 5    4/5/2017 1:10:37 PM   
Dueling drivers at 50 paces.


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 6    4/5/2017 1:15:21 PM   

Now now gentlemen, let's play nice...golf is but a game.


Thanks but that doesn't really answer the question that was posed.


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 7    4/5/2017 1:25:49 PM   

Dueling drivers at 50 paces.


Tremendous contribution to the question at hand.


# 8    4/5/2017 2:20:11 PM   


Now now gentlemen, let's play nice...golf is but a game.


Thanks but that doesn't really answer the question that was posed.


Ok, I'll answer the first question.
It is unacceptable for two grown men to not be able to work something so trivial out.
ouch.jpg
images.jpg


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 9    4/5/2017 2:39:33 PM   



Now now gentlemen, let's play nice...golf is but a game.


Thanks but that doesn't really answer the question that was posed.


Ok, I'll answer the first question.
It is unacceptable for two grown men to not be able to work something so trivial out.


Exactly! Butthurt? Oh hell no! I DO side with Picard and Riker though.


OtterMan08
Legend
 
# 10    4/5/2017 6:27:13 PM   
I play by the USGA rule book as far as I'm able. I don't recall seeing this in the book. Is it something in the new rules revision? If so please inform... If it's not an actual competitive round, V-Tour or group outing, what difference does it make? All I'm attesting in a casual round with another club member is that we played the same course on the same day at the same time. That's the rule!

Unless I'm outright calling someone a cheater I can't see any reason to get too worked up about who claims what, when. If you claim a lower score for the hole you'd just be undercutting you own handicap. If you wanted to claim a higher score and sandbag it would be easier to just play Rancocas more often.


Scott Harris
Professional Champion
 
# 11    4/5/2017 6:43:52 PM   



Now now gentlemen, let's play nice...golf is but a game.


Thanks but that doesn't really answer the question that was posed.


Ok, I'll answer the first question.
It is unacceptable for two grown men to not be able to work something so trivial out.


Define "grown men" ....


LyinLewis
Legend
 
# 12    4/5/2017 7:31:46 PM   

I play by the USGA rule book as far as I'm able. I don't recall seeing this in the book. Is it something in the new rules revision? If so please inform... If it's not an actual competitive round, V-Tour or group outing, what difference does it make? All I'm attesting in a casual round with another club member is that we played the same course on the same day at the same time. That's the rule!

Unless I'm outright calling someone a cheater I can't see any reason to get too worked up about who claims what, when. If you claim a lower score for the hole you'd just be undercutting you own handicap. If you wanted to claim a higher score and sandbag it would be easier to just play Rancocas more often.


Agree with Otter. Hell if you are playing in a group just have someone else attest.


gsollars
Professional Champion
 
# 13    4/10/2017 10:13:19 AM   
All this over someone not attesting your score? Give me a break! Move on and post the next score. If you play often enough you will get enough scores. If you have issues with someone over something this trivial, stop playing with them. Find someone else to play with. Good Grief!


Scott Harris
Professional Champion
 
# 14    4/10/2017 10:58:25 AM   

All this over someone not attesting your score? Give me a break! Move on and post the next score. If you play often enough you will get enough scores. If you have issues with someone over something this trivial, stop playing with them. Find someone else to play with. Good Grief!


If you only knew .... lol


# 15    4/10/2017 12:22:14 PM   


All this over someone not attesting your score? Give me a break! Move on and post the next score. If you play often enough you will get enough scores. If you have issues with someone over something this trivial, stop playing with them. Find someone else to play with. Good Grief!


If you only knew .... lol


https://youtu.be/IM1LLGFmyzY


  • 1
  • 2