COMMUNITY

Community  /  Forums  /  Assistance Please
Assistance Please
CecilRhymer
Professional Champion
 
349 Views    13 Replies    0 Likes   I like it!
Was anyone watching the U.S. open yesterday when Johnson hit his ball into the weeds, and 30 people were looking for his ball for 5 min. The camera replay, repaying the shot over, and over. Finally they found his ball, and the person that found it said he stepped on it, so Johnson got a free drop. Actually a place. lol Kinda makes you wonder if you hit it in the high grass, is it a penalty, or not.
# 1    6/15/2018 8:37:50 AM   
Yeah, I'm done with that penalty. Not my fault I don't have a camera crew and gallery to help me find my wayward drives. Also not my fault the green keeper ran outta gas for the mower and line for the weed eater.


njgolfer
Legend
 
# 2    6/15/2018 8:41:57 AM   

Yeah, I'm done with that penalty. Not my fault I don't have a camera crew and gallery to help me find my wayward drives. Also not my fault the green keeper ran outta gas for the mower and line for the weed eater.


Or a chainsaw to thin out the trees.


mtags
Professional Champion
 
# 3    6/15/2018 9:46:42 AM   
Kind of crazy, he could have never hit the ball in it's original resting place,and would have had to take a penalty. Also I think I heard that if a spectator steps on the ball and moves it, there is no penalty but if Johnson or his caddy had found and moved it, a penalty would have been assessed. I don't know how many times I have seen exactly where my ball lands, and then can't find it, and had to take a lost ball penalty.


Egor
Legend
 
# 4    6/15/2018 10:40:06 AM   
It would be abused, but the rule should change to either :

Lost ball in high grass - free 'placement' where the ball is assumed to be
-or-
In USGA and similar tournaments - only the player and his caddie can search


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 5    6/15/2018 11:12:11 AM   
In our club events, because we play them on weekends when the course is busiest if you don't hit a provision ball and you get to where your ball should be and it's either OB or can't be found in the rough, you assess yourself a TWO stroke penalty and hit from where the group believes your ball "should be". It saves time rather than searching for 5 minutes and going back to the tee box and holding things up any longer and pissing off the group behind you.


OtterMan08
Legend
 
# 6    6/15/2018 2:02:45 PM   

In our club events, because we play them on weekends when the course is busiest if you don't hit a provision ball and you get to where your ball should be and it's either OB or can't be found in the rough, you assess yourself a TWO stroke penalty and hit from where the group believes your ball "should be". It saves time rather than searching for 5 minutes and going back to the tee box and holding things up any longer and pissing off the group behind you.


We should probably go over the "Backstopping" rule tomorrow morning too...


PhilippeR
Professional Champion
 
# 7    6/15/2018 2:08:32 PM   
Don't worry, it won't be a penalty with the new rules starting in January 1st 2019. Until then, watch where you walk. :)


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 8    6/15/2018 4:33:18 PM   


In our club events, because we play them on weekends when the course is busiest if you don't hit a provision ball and you get to where your ball should be and it's either OB or can't be found in the rough, you assess yourself a TWO stroke penalty and hit from where the group believes your ball "should be". It saves time rather than searching for 5 minutes and going back to the tee box and holding things up any longer and pissing off the group behind you.


We should probably go over the "Backstopping" rule tomorrow morning too...



If your ball is between mine and the hole, I'll ask you to mark as it may affect the direction I want to go. If it's behind the hole, I won't ask because anything that helps my ball to slow down if I hit a bad shot is to my advantage. However, if you mark your ball behind the hole before I hit, I'm not going to ask you to put it back on the green.


CecilRhymer
Professional Champion
 
# 9    6/15/2018 7:24:41 PM   
I have always play, lost ball from the tee, drop it in line of where it went out, with a 1 stroke penalty. so you would be playing your 3rd shot. But after watching the pros, it makes you think, is that a penalty or not. lol


mtags
Professional Champion
 
# 10    6/15/2018 8:25:58 PM   
So, this is my take on this matter. If I have an unplayable lie ball that I can't find, but one of my playing partners finds and moves the ball. I now get a drop with no penalty. This is like Winning the lottery.


Mongo68
Legend
 
# 11    6/15/2018 8:57:03 PM   

I have always play, lost ball from the tee, drop it in line of where it went out, with a 1 stroke penalty. so you would be playing your 3rd shot. But after watching the pros, it makes you think, is that a penalty or not. lol


If you think about it, 1 stroke penalty really isn't enough. Look at it this way. You hit your tee shot (#1), you get to where you think it is and realize it's OB. So you are then assessed a penalty stroke (#2). You have to go back to the tee box and hit again (#3). So your next stroke would be #4.

That's why we play a TWO stroke penalty. It eliminates the time and aggravation going back to the tee box and you KNOW you won't lose the next ball or have it go OB from the tee box again since you're dropping it from where you believe your first tee ball landed or went OB.


# 12    6/15/2018 9:39:25 PM   


I have always play, lost ball from the tee, drop it in line of where it went out, with a 1 stroke penalty. so you would be playing your 3rd shot. But after watching the pros, it makes you think, is that a penalty or not. lol


If you think about it, 1 stroke penalty really isn't enough. Look at it this way. You hit your tee shot (#1), you get to where you think it is and realize it's OB. So you are then assessed a penalty stroke (#2). You have to go back to the tee box and hit again (#3). So your next stroke would be #4.

That's why we play a TWO stroke penalty. It eliminates the time and aggravation going back to the tee box and you KNOW you won't lose the next ball or have it go OB from the tee box again since you're dropping it from where you believe your first tee ball landed or went OB.


I now this will be hard but we really need you to listen. "We paid our green fee. It's not our damn fault they didn't buy enough property." Let the cheap ass owners of the course take a two stroke penalty!


CecilRhymer
Professional Champion
 
# 13    6/18/2018 8:35:08 PM   
Interesting , with the rules, out of bounds, lost ball, unplayable lie, animal borrow . lol



Participants
Mongo68 Vincedaddy845 Egor njgolfer OtterMan08 mtags CecilRhymer PhilippeR
Other Topics by CecilRhymer